Happy New Year!

Hello everyone  🙂

It has truly been a long time since the last post.  I’ll start off with a really good news.  🙂  The lastest echocardiogram showed that Ana’s VSD’s (ventricular septal defect: the holes in her ventricles) are closing on their own!  🙂  🙂  Praise the Lord!  🙂  So we don’t have to patch up the holes via surgery come this spring/ early summer.  🙂  It seems like her coarctation still needs some work so she’ll need an open heart surgery.  But at least the surgery won’t involve inside the heart and just the outside. 🙂  God is good and He answers prayers.  🙂

Ana blew up in size and she almost looks like she doesn’t belong to the KO family.  I love her little rolls on her arms and legs and even her back!  😀  Thanks to the growth spurt, she doesn’t need her helmet for too much longer.  In about two weeks she’ll get the helmet off.  We are so used to her yellow helmet that when she doesn’t have it on, she looks like a snail without her shell!  🙂  I think I’ll miss her in her little helmet.

Ana’s lip is healing very well– so far she doesn’t have much keloid looking scar tissue, but we’ll have to keep an eye on it.  The doctor told us to keep on massaging the area to loosen up the scar tissue.  🙂

Ana still doesn’t eat by mouth but I am hopeful that one day she will.  Sometimes I find myself getting lazy to practice feeding her by mouth since it’s so much easier to do the routine feeding by the G-tube.  At times it seems almost pointless because I see no progress.  But this is the role that God has given me for now and I must continue on one drop at a time.  I remember spoon feeding milk to Nathaniel when he was 7 months old because he weaned himself and refused to suck from a bottle.  I thought it was a very tedious job back then.  Now I am feeding drops to ana using my finger.  I realize that I had it good with Nathaniel.  🙂

One thing that still bothers me a lot is her retching.  When she retches and throws up, she has milk coming out of her nostrils and mouth and has a difficult time breathing.  It’s a scary thing to see to say the least.  I’m thankful that she has gotten better, but she still retches a handful times a day.  Please continue to pray that she will stop retching and throwing up..

It is still kind of too early to tell, but now that ana is about 7 months old, I am more coming to terms with a possibility that ana is different than what is “normal”.  One of the early signs of mental disability is slow gross motor development.  While it is true that her G-tube kind of got in the way of her tummy time, it is also true that she is lagging behind in terms of her physical development.  I may be thinking too much about nothing significant, but it’s kind of hard not to think about it being her mom.  I’m glad that this is rather a slow process.  God is giving me an ample amount of time to freak out, breathe, remind myself of some Bible verses, calm down, then repeat the whole cycle multiple times.  And through it all, He makes me more like Christ and forces me to trust in Him and not in myself or worldly wisdom.  🙂

“Count it all joy, my brothers, when you meet trials of various kinds, for you know that the testing of your faith produces steadfastness.  And let steadfastness have its full effect, that you may be perfect and complete, lacking in nothing.” James 1:2-4

Here are some recent photos of us having fun.

IMG_3917IMG_3946 IMG_3811

Leave a Reply

